Current Season

2014-2015 Season

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                     Contact: Pat McKee, 317-403-1665

Nov. 24, 2014                                                           IBCA Director of Special Projects


Maggard headlines IBCA/Subway Players of the Week

Shannon, Henning also receive accolades in Week 2 of awards program for 2014-15


        Darby Maggard and two other standout players have been chosen was Week 2 winners in the IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program for 2014-15.

        Maggard, who averaged 34.3 points and 10.3 assists in three victories, was chosen as the District 1 winner (for games played Nov. 17-22) in the player recognition program overseen by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. She is joined by Noblesville junior Alexis Shannon and Charlestown senior Kaitlynn Henning as respective winners for District 2 and District 3.

        The 5-4 Maggard opened her week with 41 points and seven assists as Canturbury posted a 79-62 victory over Marion. The Bellmont University signee followed with 28 points and 12 assists in a 75-46 win over Fort Wayne Northrop. She concluded her week with 34 points and 12 assists in a 78-65 triumph over Fort Wayne Snider. For the three games, Maggard was 35-of-61 on field goals, 14-of-26 on 3-pointers and 19-of-24 on free throws as the Cavaliers improved to 4-0.

        Shannon averaged 27.7 points and 7.7 rebounds in three games in helping Noblesville move its record to 5-0. The 5-9 wing scored 25 points with seven rebounds as the Millers defeated Lebanon 77-60. She followed with 34 points and 10 rebounds in a 78-51 Hoosier Crossroads Conference win over Brownsburg. Shannon then totaled 24 points and six rebounds in a 64-39 decision over Warsaw. For the week, Shannon made 35-of-66 from the floor and 13-of-13 from the free-throw line.

        The 5-7 Henning was honored after she averaged 25.5 points and 3.5 steals in a pair of season-opening victories for Charlestown. She erupted for 31 points, four rebounds, three assists and six steals in the Pirates' opener, a 58-38 victory over Corydon Central. Later in the week, Henning followed with 20 points, one rebound, two assists and one steal in a 50-42 win over South Central (Elizabeth). Over both games, Henning was 20-of-28 from the field, 2-of-5 on 3-pointers and 9-of-14 on free throws.

        This is the seventh season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the third season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a banner sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its fifth season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to "train hard and eat fresh."

        Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA's three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the week following March 7. Boys winners will be chosen starting next week and through the week following March 28.


Other nominees for Week 2 (2014-15)

        District 1 -- Jenasae Bishop, East Chicago Central; Camille Coleman, South Bend Washington; Jayla Crump, Kouts; Brianna Cumberland, Whitko; Kaitlin Doud, Portage; Brooke Elliott, Lexus Fox, Gary West; Southwood; Jordyn Frantz, NorthWood; Naomi House, Hammond Noll; Maddie Peterson, Carroll (FW); Gina Rubino, Lake Central; Brooke Sterkowitz, Hanover Central; TaShayla Sutorious, Fort Wayne Wayne; Payton Thompson, Northfield; Jordan Wadding, Chesterton; Michelle Weaver, South Bend St. Joseph; Deja Wimby, Fort Wayne Snider; Emma Wolfe, Fort Wayne Luers.

        District 2 -- Kennedy Archer, Franklin Central; Avery Chezem, Covington; Rylee Davis, Union (Modoc); Sierra Gilmore, Northeastern; Tyasha Harris, Heritage Christian; Arianna Hines, Tindley; Hailey Holliday, Eastern (Greentown); Letiticia Johnson, Warren Central; Katie Key, Frankton; Ava Kunkler, Jay County; Savannah Leas, Madison-Grant; Payton Lee, Wapahani; Macie Lively, Tipton; Bree Loyd, Hamilton Southeastern; Rachel McLimore, Covenant Christian; Maya Meredith, Cathedral; Evonnie Payne, Benton Central; Destiny Perkins, Richmond; Kristen Spolyar, Lebanon.

        District 3 -- Brooke Bradford, Batesville; Olivia Brewster, Paoli; Olivia Crozier, Madison; Lauren Curley, Terre Haute North; Shyanne Elkins, West Vigo; Maddie Fulton, Union County; Jane'e Goodwin, Vincennes Lincoln; Caitlin Hedman, Waldron; Liz Huebner, Northeast Dubois; Kelsey Ives, Vincennes Rivet; Cheyenne Jones, Washington; Kamryn McCool, Franklin County; Alexis Nall, Mt. Vernon (Posey); Jessica Norris, Center Grove; Ali Patberg, Columbus North; Mikayla Rowan, Northview; Tori Schickel, Evansville Mater Dei; Stephanie Sherwood, Evansville Memorial; Claire Volpenhein, East Central; Jackie Young, Princeton.


2014-15 winners

        Nov. 10-15 -- District 1 girls: Claire Cromer, Wabash. District 2 girls: Lindsey Corsaro, Roncalli. District 3: Ali Patberg, Columbus North, and Jackie Young, Princeton.

        Nov. 17-22 -- District 1 girls: Darby Maggard, Fort Wayne Canterbury. District 2 girls: Alexis Shannon, Noblesville. District 3 girls: Kaitlynn Henning, Charlestown.

BANNER LEVEL SPONSORS BSN Sports  Pacers Sports & Entertainment  Indiana Pacers  Indiana Fever    SubwayPRIMARY LEVEL SPONSORS (Available)  SECONDARY LEVEL SPONSORS  Champion      Methodist Logo       Shoot Away   ASSOCIATE LEVEL Done Camps  McDonalds  Indiana National Guard  CocaCola Hoosier Basketball Magazine CONTRIBUTOR LEVEL         Loomis & LaPann